Amsterdam Trip

This weekend we took a short trip to Amsterdam.  Two friends and I walked to the train station in Leuven and caught three different trains to Amsterdam taking us about four hours in travel time.

The Train

The Train

On the Train with my Eurail Pass

On the Train with my Eurail Pass

We each had a Eurail Pass that we bought in the US; all we had to do was activate it and write the day of travel on it.  They stamp it on the first ride, and simply check it for each connecting train.

The train ride was very scenic.  The following are a few pics of just that.

IMG_1951

IMG_1952 IMG_1980

IMG_1981

 

Amsterdam Central Station

Amsterdam Central Station

IMG_1988

 

We then arrived at the Amsterdam Central Station, and took a short walk to our hotel.

Near the Hotel

Near the Hotel

Unlocking the Room

Unlocking the Room

A Quadruple Hotel Room

A Quadruple Hotel Room

The main purpose for our trip was to see the Ann Frank House.  So once we were checked in we grabbed a map and made our way there.  It was a fairly short route from our hotel.

IMG_2007 IMG_2009We waited in line for about an hour, and then took about another hour touring the home.  It was a very interesting tour.  I’ve yet to read the diary, but this trip has definitely spiked an interest in history.  Well, I’ve always found it interesting, but now I want to know more details.  So, I hope to read it once I get back into the states and have some leisure time.

The rest of our stay in Amsterdam consisted of mostly a lot of walking through the streets.

By a Canal

By a Canal

By The Shopping Mall

By The Shopping Mall

Inside the Mall

Inside the Mall

The following is one of the meals I had while in Amsterdam. It was a very good chicken and avocado sandwich with a warm tea. I’ve been slightly sick since I landed in Belgium. The change in weather hasn’t helped much. So I had the tea with hopes that it would soothe my sore throat, which it did slightly. I also made a visit to the pharmacy while in Amsterdam for that precise reason. Hope I get over this soon, so that it won’t damper anymore of my trip, not that I would allow it to.

IMG_2019

Overall, it was an enjoyable weekend getaway!

IMG_2067 

Interestingly enough, once we arrived back in Leuven we got lost walking back to our dorm. We had to do some extra walking as we looked for the church that is by our rooms, but there seems to be a few cathedrals around here that all look similar. We took out our Leuven map and must have looked hopeless; some kind people offered us directions. Nonetheless, a bit tired, but we made it back and now have a day before class starts again on Tuesday.

One comment on “Amsterdam Trip

  1. xbox2121 says:

    Awesome post and pictures. I was in Amsterdam years ago, probably before you were born.

Leave a Reply

