A One-Sided Love Affair

Through the good and the bad, the highs and the lows, it is never failing.  It is also comforting to know that this feeling will not ever be demolished; that it can never go away.  From the first few beats till the fading sound, it is always a journey that can be relived a thousand times over and with a new significance only interpretations away.

I cannot tell you when the first time I heard music was or what song it might have been, but I can tell you that it has been the greatest inspiration for as long as I can remember.  When I was a kid, I purchased my very own George Strait cassette tape with the Accelerated Reader points I earned from reading books in elementary school.  When I saw it on the shelf of prizes, I thought, “Ah, that would make a great gift for my mom.”   I wasn’t very familiar with his music, but I knew she enjoyed it.  Needless to say, I kept it all for myself, and I played that cassette backwards and forwards and repeated the only two songs it had on there up until cassette players became an endangered item.  The two songs were I Just Want to Dance with You and One Night at a Time.  It may not have been the first time I heard George Strait sing, but that was definitely the time I discovered the threshold to the power behind music, country music, or George Strait’s music to be exact.

There’s no concrete reason behind why Ocean Front Property is my favorite George Strait song, not that one is needed. Maybe it’s the irony or the defiance that is expressed.  Of course, finding the right words to justify or explain the personal meaning behind any song is no easy feat; it’s just easier for you to listen to the songs and form your own opinion and attach your own personal significance.

I can continue to name songs and pinpoint the feelings and situations in which I first discovered them or the moments that they defined, but that list would be a lengthy one and regretfully even the most avid reader would lose interest.  So instead, I’ll continue on just for a bit to tell of this one-sided love affair with the King of Country Music.

I’ve had the privilege to see Mr. George Strait twice in concert, neither time was I extremely close to the stage, and that was ok.  The idea of going to a huge auditorium with thousands of strangers to listen to songs you can easily access from home is a baffling one, but I’ve never understood it more than when I saw this man in concert for the second time.  I came to understand that listening to him sing was only the beginning of the reason for needing to experience this pleasure.  The more important reasons are the ability to experience how the songs affect all the other people and to become a part if only for a few hours of something much greater than oneself.  It is the ability to pay respect to a person who by their own talents and dedication has lifted your spirits, kept you dancing, helped you convey a message, or simply made time fly.   Mr. George Strait may not have heard me or seen me exactly from where my seat was in that Alamodome on June 1, 2013, but I know that he must have felt the appreciation that his fans showed for every song that he sang.  It was an honor to be there in the crowd and to have the ability in some form of expressing gratitude for songs that have had such an impact on my life and that will continue to resonate experiences for the remainder of my lifetime.

I do not know what Mr. George Strait’s musical future holds for him, but I am grateful for what he has already produced. This journey of mine would be quite a different tale otherwise.

Leave a Reply

